By Julie Tan Yu Kyung

I want to go to a place where the skies are high
A place where I will not be burdened or cry.
I want to be on a place where the grass stands tall
A place where leaves, the colours of rainbow, fall

I want to swim in a lake with water so clear
A place where the sound of nature will be all I hear
I want to feel the wind on my face and hair
A place where gone it is, the troubles I bear

I want to be in a place where trees and mountains will be all I see
A place where I can be happy, as happy as I can be.
I want to be see nothing but grass, shubs and flowers
A place where concrete doesn’t exist only trees like towers

I want to hear the buzz of insects and calls of the wild.
A place where all animals, plants and insects alike enchant and beguile
I want to feel my heart race when the wind calls my name
A place that will change me, where I will never be the same

I want to scream at the top of my lungs and be free
A place where everyone, everywhere in the world can see.
I need to know the feeling of freedom before I die
If I don’t, peacefully in a coffin I will never lie

My heart beats for this purpose alone
Never will I be at ease if a world like this, to me, is not known
My souls lives and yearns for a freedom yet to be found
A freedom which I know I will find before I am laid upon the ground…

Leave a Reply

